Department of Physics

The department of Physics was established with B.Sc. Physics degree programme in 1968 to impart the scientific thoughts among the students of our society. M.Sc. Physics degree programme was introduced in the year 1971 to admit the first batch B.Sc. students. The M.Phil programme was started in 1978 and the affiliation for Ph.D programme was granted in the year of 1979. The department has completed 48 years of noble service in the field of higher education.

Active research in the fields of Solar Energy and its Utilization, Thin Film Technology, Crystal Growth, Non-Linear Optics, Conducting Polymers, Nano Technology, Solar Cells, Molecular Quantum Mechanics and Ultrasonics are in progress.

Salient Features

  • More than 300 research papers in reputed international journals.
  • Research grants for a tune of 80 Lakh.
  • Advanced research instrumentation facilities encompassed with
    • Jasco UV-Vis-NIR Spectrophotometer V-770PC
    • Jasco FT/IR Spectrometer FT-IR 4600LE
    • Keithley Electrometer 6517B/E
    • Hioki LCR HiTester 3532-50
    • Hitachi TG/DTA STA 7300
    • Vacuum Coating unit
    • Mitutoyo Surface Roughness Tester SJ-301 (Propeller meter)
    • Spray Pyrolysis unit
    • Pelletizer (Hydrolysis & IR)
    • Labtherm Czochralski Unit (1500° C)
    • Photo reactor unit
    • Autoclave unit
    • Centrifuge unit
    • Apex Programmable Spin Coater SCU-2008C
    • Ragga Constant Temperature Bath
    • Sub Zero slow cooling bath with Cryostat facility
    • V-Guard 6KVA UPS
  • Sharing the research facilities with institutional neighbourhood.
  • 33 Ph.Ds and 350 M.Phil degree awarded.
  • Outstanding alumni with one IAS officer and a Vice-Chancellor.
  • DST-FIST sponsored department.


  • Concept based working models in UG programme.
  • Career oriented computer courses.
  • Project experience at UG and PG level.
  • Science awareness programmes and exhibition for rural school students.

 Names of programmes offered 

S. No. Programmes Year of Establishment
1. B.Sc Physics 1968
2. M.Sc Physics 1971
3. M.Phil Physics 1978
4. Ph.D Physics 1979


Interdisciplinary courses and departments involved

S.No. Courses Beneficiaries Handled by
1. Allied Physics – I & II with Practicals Chemistry Physics
2. Instrumental methods of analysis – I & II Chemistry Physics
3. Allied Mathematics – I & II Chemistry Mathematics
4. Allied Chemistry – I & II with Practicals Physics Chemistry
5. Solid State Chemistry – I & II Physics Chemistry
6. Solid State Chemistry – I & II Physics Chemistry
7. Solid State Chemistry – I & II Physics Chemistry